Home About Us Branch Locations Fraud Prevention Center Site Map  
Five County Credit Union

Online Banking
Log In | Learn More
Financial Calculators
CalculatorsAccess a full library of financial calculators.
Bill Payment
Pay any company or individual in the U.S. using our Internet bill payment service.
BillsMore Info
Home Mortgages
Get pre-approved online so you Billscan shop for your home with the confidence that you can afford the mortgage.
For every dollar you spend, ExtraAwards gives you Bonus Points toward travel and merchandise.
Log In / Browse Rewards
Insurance Quotes
Click here to request a quote.
Shared Branching
Access your accounts at more than 2,000 "shared" credit union branches across the U.S and Canada. Branch Locator
     Home > About Us

About Us

Who are the Members?
Five County Credit Union was founded by the employees of Bath Iron Works in 1956 and was then known as the "BIW Employees Federal Credit Union".  In 1993, the credit union converted to a state charter, and our name was changed to "BIW Five County Credit Union".  In July 2001, our name was further streamlined to "Five County Credit Union" to more accurately reflect our community field of membership. In 2006, our charter was expanded to allow us to serve three more counties. Five County Credit Union now serves those who live, work, or worship in the counties of Androscoggin, Cumberland, Kennebec, Lincoln, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo & Knox counties.

Membership Information

Employment Information

Membership Switch KitIf you live or work in any of the eight counties we represent, you may become a member of our credit union by establishing a minimum balance Savings Account of $25. As a member, you are entitled to take advantage of all the services offered by Five County Credit Union: checking accounts, savings, IRAs, certificates, club accounts, loans for any worthwhile purpose, and many other services to meet your financial needs.

All member deposits are insured up to $250,000 by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA), an agency of the federal government. In addition, member deposits are also privately insured by another $250,000 by ESI.

For your personal security and peace of mind, you must have confidence in the financial institution you choose. At Five County Credit Union, it is our responsibility and highest priority to earn your trust and constantly strive to exceed your highest expectations.

"Delivering true convenience through extended hours, modern & traditional banking services and trusted solutions."

Following the traditional philosophy of credit unions, Five County Credit Union is a non-profit cooperative where members pool their financial assets to provide funds for loans and other financial services available to members only. As non-profit institutions, credit unions are unique in the financial world. Following state and federal regulations, credit unions are owned and operated by their members under the directions of a volunteer Board of Directors elected by the membership. Credit unions exist solely to provide financial services for their members. The universal philosophy of the credit union movement is: "Not for Profit -- Not for Charity -- But for Service." Members are the heart of the credit union and the sole reason the credit union exists. This is the key difference between credit unions and other types of financial institutions.

As a member/owner of Five County Credit Union you are encouraged to take an active role in the operation and performance of your financial institution. You can do this by attending the annual meeting and volunteering to serve on various committees of the credit union. The annual meeting also conducts elections each year for participation on the Board of Directors (elected for three-year terms). If you have the desire and dedication to make the commitment to serve on the Board of Directors, contact the nominating committee, contact the credit union, or email us for more information.

  • Robert E. Brewer, Jr., Chairman
  • Merlin Suggs, Vice Chairman
  • Julie A. Marquis, Treasurer/Secretary
  • A. Bosica, Director
  • Peter Decourcy, Director
  • Mona Faulter, Director
  • Bruce Wilson, Director
Home | Accounts | Loans & Credit | E-Services | Financial Services | Member Resources
Apply for Membership Loan Application Pay Your Bills Online
© Copyright 2015, Five County Credit Union. All Rights Reserved.   Phone: 1-800-750-0959    Site Disclaimer   Privacy Policy
Apply for Credit Union Membership Loan Eligibility Pay Your Bills Online Homepage